top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe nike life

hi, my name is...


I am fully loving the changes that have come with the expansion of the blog. Of course I was totally in charge of everything that was or wasn't shared before, but I felt a slight rigidness in needing to stick to posting about the nike list. It then occurred to me, that because of the old format, some people following along will only know the odd thing about me.


So to kick off the week with fun times, I eagerly introduce you to...


10 fun facts about me.




#1. I am a high school teacher.


I'm not sure this one is particularly exciting for you to all know, but it is pretty relevant to a lot of what I share on social media. I graduated in 2016 and having been substitute teaching for over a year now. I've been offered a couple of temporary positions, but wasn't interested at the time. I recently accepted a 12 month contract teaching drama of which I start tomorrow! Eeek!


#2 I am left handed.

For some reason a lot of people find this pretty fascinating. I like to think it is because we're a bit like unicorns... super rare. It's not that big of a deal to me. It can become super annoying when it comes to writing on the whiteboard. AWKWARD. And then the odd smudge filled paper depending on what type of pen I use, but you totally get used to it.


#3 I am a Drama Tutor at Young People's Theatre.

This year marks my third year tutoring drama outside of school. Some sweet connections from my first uni placement got me an interview and the rest has been history. I've gotten to work with year 8, 9 and the senior classes which are a mix of years 10-12. It's always a laugh!


#4 I love to read.

This has been a thing since I was real young. I started reading proper sentences when I was four and I haven't stopped. The love of reading got a little backlogged during the uni years, but as of last year I got crazy excited about reading again. Keep your eyes peeled for a nike list post all about it in the coming months.


#5 I do not like toilet paper chilling under the roll.

The age old question. Over or under. I once heard a chat on the radio about how psychologically, anyone that preferred the under style hated their in-laws. Sounds pretty bogus to me, and has nothing to do with my preference, but over is how it has and will continue to chill on the toilet paper front.


#6 I have a legit fear of falling.

It's taken me a few years to actually figure that I'm not afraid of heights - how ironic for someone as tall as me - but actually afraid of falling. I think it all has to do with my need to be in control, and falling is quite the opposite of that. I think it's the same reason I'm not into ice skating, surfing or roller-blading. There's too much chance of a freak accident and me falling over. I have only gone ice skating twice in my entire life.


#7 I struggle to not bust a move.

If the music is on then I must dance. In the car, in the street, in public. There's a short walk from my house to the gym, which includes crossing two roads. It would not be unusual to drive pass me and see me bouncing along to my headphones, waiting to pass. The groove cannot be denied.


#8 I have an obsessive love with my cat's teeth.

I know. At first sight that seems real random, but let me walk you through it. Her sharp teeth are nothing special. I could care less, actually I do. It is those teeth in between her big sharpies that I just cannot get over. Her teeth are so little and tiny and I just think its darling! They are only just bigger than a grain of sand. Gosh. Too cute!


#9 Puns are my jam.

I fully enjoy a good pun, and a bad pun, just generally all puns. The groan and sympathetic smile that follows, keeps me going for some time. But if you really want to know the way to my heart, its food puns. Food + puns. Seriously. Watch me swoon.


#10 I feel the deepest satisfaction from organising.

This is completely true. People look at me funny. Some wish they were me. I love a good filing system. Colour co-ordination, alphabetization. It is almost a guilty pleasure, except why be guilty when you can be organised? Then promise of the end of semester tidy up is what would get me through writing essays. I'm not going to lie. I still go to my parents house and regularly re-alphabetize their DVDs.


I am a interesting being, and these are only ten of an infinite fun facts about me. I hope you enjoyed! Keep coming back and reading.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page