top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethe nike life

Your bed just called... It wants you back.

Updated: May 8, 2020

I am not a sleep-er-in-er.


Even as a kid, Saturday morning was often greeted with women in lycra moving to eighties music while I waited for cartoons to begin. Up too early most weeks.


A few weeks ago I decided to spend all morning in bed and it was the BEST thing ever. Except cheese. I love cheese. And Netflix. Quickly getting away from the point.


I did some sleeping and just general chilling, and it was the first time in FOREVER that I gave myself permission to do it without feeling like I wasn't being productive with my time. And if you subscribe to that same train of thought, then this, my friend, is a post for you. For both of us. Classic over-thinkers. I headed to bed just last night with similar thoughts.

Today marks the first Monday of the school holidays and I was double minded about how I was to approach it. I find my mornings really set the tone for the rest of the day. Dare I sleep in and have a lazy start? I mean nothing feels better than sleeping in while Josh gets ready for work. Or do I wake up early, get to the gym and catapult into the day and have several things done and dusted before it even hits 9 am?


I ended up going to bed so tired that I didn't really decide, but instead was blessed with life naturally occurring without my planning. My Fitbit was still uncharged from yesterday so the normal alarm couldn't wake me. I woke when my brain did and refused to look at the time. This was such a welcomed change!


Each day, for quite some time, I've bought into this self devised belief that if I haven't got myself up and morning routine'd by about 9 am, then I'm massively wasting my time. I struggle to stay in bed. I struggle to stay asleep. I work through any tiredness because things need to be done. Sigh.


Well, here's the hit of truth for me, and my likewise friends. There will always be things that need to be done. It isn't going to magically stop one day.


Sometimes you need to say no to stuff and yes to sleep, AND THAT IS OKAY! Your bed misses you, and your body and mind miss your bed. I'm not advocating for some serious slothful behavior, but if I wake up at 7 instead of 5, then I'm not going to let myself feel bad about it. There will always be stuff that needs to be done, and there will always be time to do it. But let's face it. Our relationship with our beds is just as important as with our to-do list.


So, let's give ourselves a break. One nap at a time.


I think I hear my bed calling right now.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page